Brake system

What the technical regulations say:

  • Formula One cars must have one brake system operated through a single brake pedal.
  • The system must comprise two hydraulic circuits – one for the front wheels and one for the rear. Should one circuit fail the other must remain operational.
  • Anti-lock braking systems (ABS) are not allowed – brake pressure must be controlled by the driver’s physical input only and not by any other system.
  • The only exception is the electronic rear brake control system, which is teams can use to compensate for the effect of Energy Recovery Systems (ERS) on the rear axle.
  • The rear brake control system is allowed provided that the driver brake pedal is connected to a hydraulic master cylinder that generates a pressure source that can be applied to the rear braking circuit if the powered system is disabled.
  • Each wheel must have no more than one brake disc of 278mm maximum diameter and 32mm maximum thickness. Each disc must have only one aluminium caliper, with a maximum of six circular pistons, and no more than two brake pads.
  • The size of the air ducts used to cool the brakes is strictly controlled and they must not protrude beyond the wheels. The use of liquid to cool the brakes is forbidden.