Points, classification and race distance

What the sporting regulations say:

  • Formula 1 races are of near identical distance, calculated in the regulations as the least number of laps required to exceed 305 kilometres. Some races invariably take longer than others however due to the differing average speeds of circuits.
  • The only exception is Monaco, where the race distance is calculated as the minimum number of laps exceeding 260 kilometres.
  • However, a two-hour cut-off applies to all Grands Prix. If this is exceeded, the leading driver will be shown the chequered flag on the lap during which the two-hour mark elapsed.
  • At the conclusion of each Grand Prix, the top ten finishers will score points towards both the drivers’ and constructors’ world championships, according to the following scale:

1st : 25 points
2nd : 18 points
3rd : 15 points
4th : 12 points
5th : 10 points
6th : 8 points
7th : 6 points
8th : 4 points
9th : 2 points
10th : 1 point

  • The only exception to this is when a race is suspended and cannot be restarted. In that instance half points will be awarded if less than 75 percent of the race distance has been completed, while no points will be awarded if less than two laps have been completed.
  • Any driver who completes over 90 percent of the race will be classified as a finisher, regardless of whether they were running as the winner took the chequered flag.
  • The drivers’ and constructors’ championship titles are awarded to the driver and constructor who score the most points over the course of the season.
  • In the event of any ties for position, the driver with superior race results (based on descending order, from number of wins to numbers of second-places down) will gain precedence.